Top 10 Albums of 2011 10-6

I apologize for my tardiness in posting this. I hope everyone had a great Christmas and wonderful New Year’s Eve. As we look forward to all that 2012 holds, I wanted to take a moment and reflect on 2011, and feature my Top 10 Albums of the Year.

Let’s kick it off with Number 10.

10.  Amen by the Down East Boys         

Released in November, I have not spent as much time listening to this as much as the other albums on my list. Crossroads really hyped the release of Amen, stating the album had elements of The Cathedrals, Gold City, and The Kingsmen.  While I personally don’t hear any shades of those groups mentioned, I do believe this is the finest project the DEB have recorded. Tony Jarman has added alot to their sound, and they have a great group blend. The song selection is excellent, and there are 3 songs on this project(I Won’t Trade My Crown, When I Could Do Nothing, Suddenly One Morning)  that have great potential as singles.

Other Highlights of this Recording are, Every Word In The Word, Hold On, and Redemption Draweth Nigh.

 

9.  Songs From The Heart by Triumphant Quartet

This was a table project released by the group, with a cool concept in mind, 10 songs, 2 written by each group member. The project features some great moments, some songs I love are Be Of Good Cheer, Thank You Lord, Streets Of Gold, Let The Rapture Come My Way, and Almost Home.  However songs like Lets All Stand For America, and God Works All Things For Good seem to not be of the same quality, and missed the mark. Yet the cd is great, and one of the years best.

I also wanted to say, I believe Jeff Stice is the most underrated producer in Gospel Music. This guy is not only a great musician, but a musical genius himself. He is very valuable part of this group, and Triumphant would definitely not be the same without his arrangements.

8. Somebody’s Coming by Gold City

One of the most anticipated releases of the past 2 years, Somebody’s Coming was finally released in November. This project is definitely the best Gold City has produced in recent years. Jerry Pelfrey’s addition to the group was a big shot in the arm, giving the group a sound almost reminiscent of the 80’s lineup, with Ivan Parker.

Production wise, the project is excellent, Michael English & Danny Riley did a great job. Song selection was quite good, my personal favorites being, I Get Down, It Won’t Be Long, Showers of Blessings, Lord of Life, Leave That Burden, and I Have An Anchor. The only song that seems to be out of place on this project is Never Too Broken To Belong.

This album was a true return to form for Gold City, I hope this lineup stays together for many years to come.

7.  More Than Enough by The Whisnants

On this project, The Whisnants decided to employ the services of the best producer in Gospel Music, Lari Goss. Co-Produced by Goss, long time Whisnants Producer Mylon Hayes, and Jim Brady, More Than Enough continues the trend of great albums the Whisnants have made, while Goss puts his unmistakable touch on the project. The cd has a great balance, songs like It Is Jesus, Are You Ready, Weapon Of Prayer are Vintage Whisnants. The Goss treatment is given to He’s Living Today, I’ll Trust The Potter’s Hands (one of my favorite songs on the project), I Will Glory In The Cross, and The Ready Medley.

The song that really needs to be heard on this project is the Dianne Wilkinson penned, Burn The Boat. Susan’s delivery on this song is amazing, and the lyrics are very thought provoking.

6. Why Can’t We by The Isaacs

I have never really been a huge Isaacs fan, but Why Can’t We is an great album, and contains some of the best songwriting from sisters Sonya Isaacs Yeary and Becky Isaacs Bowman.  Why Can’t We is one of the most powerful songs I have heard in a long time, it really grabbed my attention when the group performed at NQC and made me want the new project.

I have also thoroughly enjoyed Waiting In The Water, God Still Has A Plan, I’m Gonna Love You Through It, Get On Board, and Hallelujah Turnpike.  I really like the project alot, but I really couldn’t squeeze it into my Top 5.

Check back tomorrow to see my Top 5!

One thought on “Top 10 Albums of 2011 10-6

  1. Really like what I’ve heard from the DEB project as well. Too bad it was over-hyped. It would have been better if the publicity had been more toned down, allowing people simply to enjoy it for what it is, which is a fine DEB album.

Leave a Reply

