The Top 10 Greatest Quartets?

In the coming days, I will begin a new series of articles, ranking the Top 10 Greatest Quartets. This is a very exciting series for me personally, I’ve grown up listening to Gospel Music, and even though I’m 27, In my research for these articles I have come up with about 16 different quartets that I believe rank in the top groups of all time.

So if you were to rank the top 10 groups, or select the top group, who would it be? Be sure to check back with us later in the week, to see who makes the list!

13 thoughts on “The Top 10 Greatest Quartets?

  1. None better than the Cathedrals IMO. The Statesmen were one of the pioneers. Others I’d include in my list are GVB, Kingsmen, Gold City, Blackwoods, Masters V, Stamps,

  2. No question, the Cathedrals would be at the top of my list! The old Gold City would definitely be on the list (Brian Free and Ivan Parker). The Statesmen, absolutely. Gaither Vocal Band without question. Another group I’d probably put on there which fewer people have heard of is the King’s Heralds.

  3. LET’S STIR THIS UP, GVB SHOULDN’T EVEN BE IN THERE, HAVEN’T BEEN AROUND LONG ENOUGH. THE THING ABOUT THINGS LIKE THIS, FORMER GROUPS ARE NO WHERE TO BE FOUND, WE HAVE THE STATESMEN, WHAT ABOUT THE REBELS QT, PROPHETS QT, EARLY OAK RIDGE BOYS, THE STAMPS QT, KINGSMEN QT, I COULD GO ON, YOU GET THE DRIFT, COME ON AND BRING IT, I’M READY.

  4. All Time – Statesmen
    Blackwood Brothers (50’s – early 60’s) Cathedrals, Imperials (60’s to mid 70’s), Gold City (Jay, Jonathan, Mark & Tim), Oaks (Willie, Duane, Bill & Herman, Tommy), JD Sumner & Stamps (70’s), Masters V & throw The Inspirations or Kingsmen in there (in their prime). A strong argument could be made with the old Florida Boys & Rebels as well for a top 10 list. I think that is a good start……

  5. Statesmen
    Blackwood Brothers
    Imperials
    Oak Ridge Quartet (Boys)
    JD Sumner and the Stamps
    Prophets Qt
    Blue Ridge Qt
    Cathedral Qt
    Rebels Qt
    Harvesters Qt

  6. Oh hey yeah, forgot the Imperials. One of my all-time faves! I grew up on the 70s incarnation w/Russ Taff (not that I was around then but it’s what my parents played around the house. :D)

  7. David, the GVB have been around 32 years, how much more time do you want? 🙂 Besides, they have always had quality groups (some I have liked more than others).

    My list would be the Cathedrals (particularly with Trammell, Funderburk and Bennett (with Wolfe second).

    The Gaither Vocal Band (there are several versions that belong here).

    Gold City (In particular during the Parker / Free days, but others as well).

    The Oak Ridge Boys (particularly from the late sixties on).

    The Stamps (particularly with Bill Baize, Donnie Sumner, Ed Enoch and Richard Sterban)

    The Singing Americans (in particular with Funderburk / English. Funderburk / Parker, Strickland / English)

    The Sound (the original group)

    The Imperials

    The Statesmen

    The Blackwoods

    And couple of mixed ones for good measure. 🙂

    The Hoppers

    The Perrys

  8. I think the old Breath of Life Quartet had the best quartet blend I’ve ever heard. Sadly the same guys aren’t singing together anymore. I think the name is ongoing but it’s some different lineup now.

  9. Well, There are so many wonderful groups it is really impossible to pick the very best one. If I just had to make a fast decision it would just have to be the Cathedrals. I love George Younce and Glen Paine. It has been over 50 years since I first heard them and I still love them. God Rest Their Souls.

Leave a Reply

