YouTube Treasures: “Take Him At His Word” by Greater Vision circa 1995

My YouTube feature of the week is one of my favorite songs from one of my favorite groups. The year was 1995, I was 11, and one of the most played cd’s in the Fuson family vehicle is still one of the most played albums on my iPod. Greater Vision’s  “Take Him At His Word” was released that year.  It was the groups third recording featuring Rodney Griffin, and Chris Allman’s last until he returned in 2010.

This recording is truly a treasure that should be owned by true Southern Gospel fans, and the title song (written by Ernie Haase & Joel Lindsey)  is one of the most interesting songs the group ever recorded. I love the arrangement, and in my opinion, it still sounds fresh today. The group has brought back one song from this album, “I Could Never Praise Him Enough” which was written by Allman. It would be awesome to hear this one again as well. So here’s a performance of “Take Him At His Word”,  taken from a video recorded at the 1995 National Quartet Convention. Hope you enjoy this walk down memory lane!

Leave a Reply

