Mark Trammell Quartet Announces New Bass Vocalist Randy Byrd

Today, The Mark Trammell Quartet officially announced the addition of bass vocalist Randy Byrd, via a blog post on the groups website.  Byrd joins the group officially, after filling in for the last three months. The groups owner/manager, legendary baritone Mark Trammell said in the press release, “We are thrilled with the overwhelming inquiry about this position. And after much prayer and consideration, the group collectively feels that Randy is the right man for this season of our ministry.”

newmtq
The Mark Trammell Quartet L-R, Mark Trammell, Dustin Black, Nick Trammell, Randy Byrd

Byrd is no stranger to long time fans of Gospel Music. He has spent time with some of the finest groups in our industry, most notably The Blackwood Brothers Quartet, Lefevre Quartet, and the Songfellows. Randy states. “At 12 years of age, I heard The Cathedrals sing There is a Fountain and I was hooked!! I told my mother that night after hearing George Younce, ‘When I grow up, I want to be a bass singer.’  God has blessed me and allowed me to sing with some of the best in the business.  Three years ago my dream started to fall apart.  Between my flesh and Satan’s attacks it seemed my life was over. I am thankful today that in spite of my faults and failures, God never took His hand off of me.  Everything that Satan robbed from me, God has restored!  I am beyond excited to join The Mark Trammell Quartet! I am living proof that God IS faithful!! ” Byrd is replacing a fan favorite in the groups previous bass singer, Pat Barker. Randy addressed this also, “Pat Barker is a dear friend.  I am not and cannot be Pat Barker.  But I can work at being the best version of me that God can use and I gladly accept that challenge.”

 

I had the privilege of hearing Randy sing with the group a couple of months ago in Myrtle Beach, SC. I was very impressed not only with how well Randy fit in the group’s blend, but by how much he enjoyed himself on stage and worshipped while he was singing. Randy is right when he says he cannot be Pat Barker, but I do believe he is an excellent addition to the group and that fans he will make his way into the hearts of MTQ’s fans and friends. I’m looking forward to great things from this lineup. Make sure you check the groups schedule and welcome Randy to the group!

3 thoughts on “Mark Trammell Quartet Announces New Bass Vocalist Randy Byrd

  1. How may I get in contact with Randy Byrd? He and the Blackwoods came to my husband’s room in ICU at Great Plains Regional Medical Center in Elk City, OK about 3 years ago after their concert and sang to him. Randy also gave me one of his CDs that has been an encouragement to me.

Leave a Reply

