McCray Dove To Launch Solo Career

Today, McCray Dove announced via a statement on Facebook that he will be starting his solo career on December 31st of this year. The statement goes on to explain that Dove will still travel with a live band, who will also supply backing vocals. Here is the statement in its entirety.

10818299_10204757677409222_9017044201913675864_oMcCray Dove announces the launching of his solo career beginning December 31, 2014. McCray states that he will still be traveling as McCray Dove and The Dove Brothers Band. We will still sing harmony with me as lead vocalist and will continue with the live band. There are a lot of exciting things in the works.
I have enjoyed singing in a quartet. In my 27 years of singing professionally I’ve traveled with some very talented men. There will always be a special place in my heart for quartet singing.
I would like to thank every member that has walked out on the stage with me and helped to further my career. Life changes and so does your heart. I have been debating this move for quite some time. I have songs that I want to write and songs to sing. I want to share what I feel and this is the way I feel I need to do it. I ask that you keep me and the band in your prayers. When we come to your town come be with us!
Go to www.dovebrothersband.com
 for booking information
.”

This sadly brings an end to this chapter of The Dove Brothers Band.  The group started in 1998, and was one of the most exciting groups of the new millennium. The first lineup (tenor John Rulapaugh, McCray on lead, brother Eric on baritone, Burman Porter on bass, and pianist Richard Simmons) captured the hearts of Gospel Music fans across the country with. In 2002, the group was voted as the top Quartet by readers of the Singing News. Even though Rulapaugh, Porter, and Simmons departed, the group never missed a beat hiring Jerry Martin, David Hester, and Andrew Smith. The group had changed directions stylistically in recent years, going towards a more progressive sound, which resulted in 2005’s Anything But Ordinary, Everything But Typical, and 2006’s Never The Same, which is my favorite album the group released and contained their first Number One Song, I Can Pray.

The group started to gravitate towards a country sound, which materialized on 2007’s Life and the following releases. Although I personally was not a fan of the groups recent work, nothing can take away from their accomplishments over the years as one of the top groups in the industry. McCray is one of the great lead singers in our industry and I’m interested to see what his solo career has in store, and I wish him all the best. To keep up with McCray, be sure to visit his website, http://www.dovebrothersband.com.

 

Leave a Reply

