Jeremy Peace Departs The Old Paths

46091_10151529035691608_249788921_n
The Old Paths L-R Jeremy Peace, Tim Rackley, Daniel Ashmore, Douglas Roark

In an announcement that I never expected to write, Jeremy Peace, tenor vocalist for The Old Paths, has announced that he is leaving the group to form a new ministry with his family. The group has not posted a Press Release yet, Jeremy made the announcement on his personal Facebook page. Peace shared, “Over the past several years, after accepting the calling on my life to preach the Gospel, I’ve wrestled within myself to step out on my own, following the Lord in the direction he would have me go. Through that period of time, I’ve said no, I’ve tried to reject the notion that the Holy Spirit was leading me into evangelistic ministry, and all but ran from any open doors the Lord would open for me. I’ve lived in my “comfort zone” for so long that I was content where I was at. But within the last few months, the Lord has revealed Himself in such mighty ways; answering prayers for our family and opening doors that we had no choice but to walk through. As we sat back and watched the Lord worked within our family, it became apparent that He was waiting on me to take the first step of faith, in obedience to his Word, so that He could use me and my family in ministry together. We live in a world of chaos and despair. Everyone searching to fill the empty void inside them that only the Holy Spirit can fill. While we as Christians send a majority of our missionaries overseas to other nations, our country is crumbling to ruins. Jennifer and I feel its time to follow the Lord, step out on faith and become missionaries to our great nation! Our heart is to lead the lost to a loving Savior, and disciple them in truth and biblical teachings. To go into churches; preaching, and singing to hurting people who need the message of hope that Jesus will never leave them nor forsake them.

Peace went on to state, “So, as I transition from being a quartet man, spending the last 8 years on the road with one of the top quartets in the nation, it is with a humbled heart that I announce a new ministry: Peace Ministries; preaching, singing, missionary and evangelistic work throughout the United States. We will also be putting together couple’s, men, women and teen retreats, sharing our testimonies; individually and together, of how the Lord has delivered us and worked through us, and how he can do the same for others!”

Peace has been a favorite of Gospel Music lovers since joining The Kingsmen back in 2004. In 2007, Jeremy left the group to join The Old Paths and for the last 8 years has been a part of this great group’s rise to the top of the industry. Their last 4 projects (Right Now, These Truths, Decade, Stay) are the finest string of recordings any group in the history of our music have ever released. Although I hate to see Jeremy leave my favorite group, I wish him and his family all the best. Please keep the Peace Family & The Old Paths in your prayers during this time of transition.

5 thoughts on “Jeremy Peace Departs The Old Paths

  1. “Their last 4 projects (Right Now, These Truths, Decade, Stay) are the finest string of recordings any group in the history of our music have ever released.”

    Wow! That is a strong statement! I see you really are a fan of the group. I like them a lot also, and all four of those albums are very good. However, I don’t think I could make that statement. I do wish Jeremy and the Old Paths well. I actually prefer a tenor more in the Chris Allman style than Jeremy’s super high tenor, so I would like to see them go in that direction. However, they will probably try to find another tenor singer in that vein in order to preserve the sound they have already established.

    I enjoy your blog even though I don’t comment often. Keep up the good work!

  2. Even bigger news…

    “Group owners Tim Rackley and Douglas Roark have decided that it is in the best interest of their families for their focus to be on home. With this decision, The Old Paths’ final service will be December 6, 2015.”

  3. My wife and I have visited the Southern Gospel picnic in Silver Dollar City for the last 25 years. The Old Paths became our favorite of all our years going there. We will miss them a lot. We saw their last performance on August 28, 2015, at SDC. Was not the same without Jeremy Peace.
    We surely wish all the group God’s love and guidance in their new endeavors.
    L/A
    Altoona, WI

Leave a Reply

