Album Review: “He’s The Rock” by The Sharps

Many times, I am sent recordings by groups I have never heard of and asked if I would review them here on the site. To be honest with you, a good majority of the material that gets sent to me is not very good and I strive to feature only quality artists here on Fuson’s Findings. However, I received a cd from a quartet that was a pleasant surprise, and it’s the subject of today’s Album Review.

image1The Sharps are a male quartet, hailing from Alabama that I have never heard before. Although the quartet was formed 30 years ago, the current lineup has been together three years. The group’s personnel has a mixture of youth and experience. The quartet is comprised of father and son Andy & Ben Sharp, who sing the tenor and baritone respectively. They are joined by lead singer Mike Leath and bass vocalist Logan Miller. He’s The Rock is the group’s latest recording, an independent project produced by Danny Crawford and recorded at Crossroads Studios.

The cd kicks off with the title cut, “He’s The Rock’, which was co-written by Andy and features lead singer Leath. Next up is a great quartet number written by the late Conrad Cook which is one of my favorites, “Endless Day”. It features Ben on the verses and bass singer Logan on some chorus step out lines. Another song I enjoyed is the next cut, “Then I’ll See Jesus” a medium tempo song that features Leath. There’s some nice harmony on the chorus as well that’s a testimony to a good group blend. “Every Hour and Every Day’ is a song that will be familiar to many Gospel Music fans.  I’ve always heard this song done at a quicker pace. However, the group elected to slow the tempo down on the song, which gives it a great feel. Ben is featured on the verses you can tell there’s some feeling in his voice. The first half of the project comes to a close with another good quartet song, “Upon This Solid Rock”.

The second half starts off with another toe-tapper, “I Am Has Called You”, that Ben features on the first verse. The second verse is the lone feature for bass singer Logan. Next up is another up tempo song that features Ben, “Change Of Address”. The next track, “My Grace Is For Thee”, was also written by and features Andy. “Heaven Can’t Be Far Away” is the project’s final up-tempo number and features both Mike and Andy on the verses respectively. Andy also takes the feature on the final song of the project, “God’s Not Finished With Me”.

 

CONCLUSION

He’s The Rock” Is a solid, quartet project. There’s a lot of variety on the project musically with some slow songs, but mostly uptempo. It was refreshing to me to listen to a project where there’s no big orchestrated ballads, and no vocal gymnastics; just good songs done with good four part harmony. I personally enjoyed the song selection and performances, my favorite cuts being the title track, “Endless Day, “Then I’ll See Jesus, “Every Hour and Every Day”, “I Am Has Called You” and “God’s Not Finished With Me”. My only real critique would be that I would like to have heard another song or two that featured the bass singer.

I have found that normaly most Southern Gospel fans, myself included, are often unsure of checking out group’s they’ve never heard of before. But I can assure you, especially if you like good quartet singing, The Sharps are right up your alley. There’s definitely some potential with the current lineup to do something special and I look forward to hearing more from these guys in the future. To find out more about The Sharps or to order a copy of “He’s The Rock”, visit their website here.

Review copy provided. A positive review was not required.

 

Leave a Reply

