Behind The Music: “What You Can Never Get Over”

As I noted in my review of The Kingdom Heirs new recording, “I Feel A Good Day Coming On”, one of my favorite songs on the project was “What You Can Never Get Over”. This song, written by Rodney Griffin, features the groups new tenor vocalist, Jacob Ellison.

Rodney is one of Southern Gospel’s most prolific writers. While many of his songs have been recorded by his group, Greater Vision, The Kingdom Heirs have also recorded many of his finest songs, including “He Lifted Me”, “I’ve Been Rescued”, “The Depths of The Father’s Love”, “He Locked The Gates”, “As Many Times” and many more. But I believe this is one of the best songs Rodney has ever written.

When asked about the inspiration behind the song, Rodney shared the following with me. “

“I felt this would be a special song from the beginning.  A couple of years ago, a Canadian friend of ours lost his father.  I texted my condolences to he and his family.  His response caused this song to be written.  He wrote back,

 “Rodney, we’ll never get over this, but God will get us through.”

“I knew there was a song there.  I didn’t have any group in mind, but I wrote the song.  I felt like we could all relate to “It all was well…suddenly you’re walking toward a storm”.  Many storms come suddenly and unexpectedly to us.  But, we know God will get us through them.”

“I was thrilled when we worked with the Kingdom Heirs one night and Arthur Rice told me they were still searching for a song for Jacob.  When I sent them the song, Jacob identified with it immediately.  I love his interpretation of it on their new recording.”

“It’s precious to know that the death of my friend’s father will forever be commemorated by the lyrics of this song.  God be praised.”

Jacob Ellison, the featured vocalist and tenor for The Kingdom Heirs added, “When I first joined the Kingdom Heirs, Arthur was finishing up his song selections for the upcoming album. He gave me the choice between two songs Rodney had sent for my final song on the album. When I heard “What You Could Never Get Over,” the words gripped me. Being a victim of sexual abuse, a fatherless male, and growing up impoverished, my life felt like a constant “what the crap God?” This song perfectly tells the honesty of being in a trial and then the beauty of what the other side can be if we persevere.”

In my review, I shared that the song had a black Gospel/soulful feel to me. Jacob elaborated, ‘When I first heard the song, Rodney had composed it like a James Taylor song. I thought the words needed a more dramatic feel. I rearranged the song, sat in with the instrumentalists at the studio and made it into what I felt fit the lyrics better. I feared it would offend Rodney because of how different it was, but upon asking him, he said he loved it. I love black gospel and always make it a goal to bring it into my music, so I’m very honored that that was your takeaway.”

When asked about the response the song is receiving live, Jacob shared, “I have been surprised over the responses we have gotten to the song. On several occasions people have shared with me about the loss of their children, getting cancer, among other things. My own grandmother told me after her breast cancer diagnosis a few months ago that it has become her fight song! I pray it to be an anthem for hurt people push to make it through with God by their side. Regardless, this song is helping people, mostly me. Getting to sing this song has been one of the greatest honors of my life.”

After publishing my review, Greg Bentley of Crossroads/Sonlite (The Kingdom Heirs record label) commented that this song will be sent to radio as the new single. I believe the message is so timely and powerful for the times in which we live. I would like to thank both Rodney and Jacob for sharing the story behind the writing and creative process that brought this song to be. Listen to the words of this song and the heart behind the performance, I know it will bless you just like it has me.

WHAT YOU COULD NEVER GET OVER

Verse 1
It all was well in your life
All was calm at least for a little while
But then the curtain opened
Suddenly you’re walking toward a storm
As the pain comes rushing in
You say, “I’ll never get over this”

CHORUS
What you could never get over
God will get you through
When what you’d never imagined
Has now somehow happened to you
He knew your journey would bring you this way
So He will enlighten your view
What you could never get over
God will get you through

Verse 2
Just say, “Go on ahead, you temporary trial”
“Try your best to try and take my smile”
“You will not defeat me”
“Though I may be grieving for a day”
“The hurt I can’t dispute”
“But, this promise I’ve learned is true”

Tag
Friend, the One Who is worthy, sovereign and Holy
Is right here standing with you
What you could never get over, God will get you..
What you could never see over, God will see you..
What you could never get over, God will get you through

Words and Music by Rodney Griffin, ©Songs of Greater Vision, BMI.

Leave a comment