Album Review: “I Feel A Good Day Coming On” by The Kingdom Heirs

Southern Gospel Music has no greater ambassador than The Kingdom Heirs. They have introduced thousands to their music through their daily shows at Dollywood for the past 36 years. The group has been excellent over those years, with minimal personnel changes.

The current nucleus of Lead singer Arthur Rice, Bass vocalist Jeff Chapman, and Loren Harris on Baritone added Tenor Vocalist Jacob Ellison last Year and I believe this is their best lineup to date.

The project kicks off with the title cut, which is the first single. The group takes the first verse and chorus and are joined by The 3 Heath Brothers on the second verse and chorus. The song gets up and goes, with some nice horns on the arrangement. Next is up is a nice mid tempo number, “The Gospel Truth“, which features Chapman on the verses and Ellison and Chapman on the chorus. Ellison is a newcomer to SG, and I love his tones on this song, very similar to Kirk Talley in certain tones, especially the last key change after the bridge.

The pace picks up on “He’s Making Good”, which features Rice. It’s hard to believe that Arthur has been the lead singer of the KH for 27 Years! But believe me when I say he sounds better than ever, and he absolutely crushes this song. Things slow down a bit for “A Heaven Frame of Mind”, which features Harris. I really enjoyed this bluesy song, penned by the late great Dianne Wilkinson, and the first of 4 songs she penned that you’ll find on the project.

Next up is another Wilkinson song, “God Knows How Much Mercy I Need”, which features Rice. Some fans may remember this one from when Mark Trammell Quartet recorded it back in 2010, but this is a great cut that the group changed up a bit, and I love the ending they put on this with Ellison. Speaking of Jacob, he’s featured on the next song, the up-tempo “Jesus Is Enough”, written by the groups drummer Dennis Murphy. Jacob takes the verses while Chapman leads the chorus.

“Tell Me Again” is a mid tempo tune, that features Rice. Harris is featured again on the uptempo “Never Changing God” and what a great song. Loren has been a home run for the KH, an awesome addition who gives has given the group another dimension vocally. Things slow down for the next cut, “What You Could Never Get Over”, which features Ellison. When I initially heard this song, I thought the group was covering a Black Gospel/CCM song. When I got my physical copy, I was shocked and amazed to see the song was written by Rodney Griffin. There is so much I want to say about this song, in fact I have another post dedicated to this song that I will post this weekend, but I want to include my thoughts here as well. Jacob Ellison is a breath of fresh air to SG Industry, this guy is awesome. He’s got the power to sing high but he also can sing a lyric like this with the tenderness the arrangement calls for. I mentioned earlier that some of his tones reminded me of Kirk Talley, while on this song his tones reminded me of the great Steve Perry from Journey. He put so much soul into this performance and it shows. Both the lyrics of the song and the performance are MUST HEAR! I really hope Crossroads sends this song to radio, it’s a message that will connect to folks. Stay tuned for my next post, you won’t want to miss it. Now, back to the review.

The pace picks up a bit with a shuffling mid tempo quartet tune, “He Worked It Out”, which features Chapman and Ellison. I cannot go any further in this review without complimenting Jeff. It’s also hard to believe Chapman has been with the KH for 20 Years, singing bass. Jeff is without a doubt in my mind, the best bass singer in our business. He can sing lower than anybody you can think of, past or present, in the history of our Genre, but he can also sing in his upper register as good as anyone too. He may not win the fan awards, but there is no doubt in our industry that Jeff Chapman is THE Best bass singer in our industry. The project comes to a close with a great energetic song, “What My God Can Do”, which features Ellison. It’s an enjoyable song, but then the encore comes in, and Jacob goes into the stratosphere. All I could say is, “wow”. I write this review, letting my “worldly musical influences” come out a bit, but I can only compare the high note Jacob hits to one song I’ve heard in my life, “The Great Gig In The Sky” by Pink Floyd. If you know, you know.

The Kingdom Heirs are one of the most solid and dependable groups in our genre, you know when you listen to their music you will hear a great quartet recording. As always, the song selection, vocals, and performances captured on this project displays what I as a Gospel Music fan love about the KH and what keeps me listening. I believe they are the strongest they’ve ever been vocally, this lineup has no weak links. One of the most refreshing things about this project, in my opinion, is to have a group of the stature of The Kingdom Heirs, bring in a guy that is fresh blood, a new name and face in our industry, who is obviously talented. THIS is what we need in SG! We’ve got too many groups bringing back the best guy they know that retired 2-3 years ago and keeping the pool of talent small and relative to a few names. But getting some young people who are talented, excited about this music, and want to minister in this capacity is what SG needs and I’m glad to see it in Jacob and The Kingdom Heirs.

In closing, I really enjoyed listening to “I Feel A Good Day Coming On” and believe it to be the best album released in 2021. Please be sure to pick up a physical copy of the cd, stream it or download it, whatever you do. If you’ve heard this project already, share your thoughts with me, I’d love to hear from you!

A review copy was not provided.

2 thoughts on “Album Review: “I Feel A Good Day Coming On” by The Kingdom Heirs

  1. Hello Brian, Thank you for reviewing the new Kingdom Heirs album. Glad you liked it as much as we have releasing it. FYI, “What You Could Never Get Over” is the new radio single going out this week. Since that was your hope, I thought I’d confirm it with you.

Leave a comment